Celebrating the New Year in Style – at 36,000 feet in United’s Business Class

Business Class - United Airlines

One of the smartest things I did recently was redeeming an extra 20,000 miles to sit in United’s newly configured business class cabin while celebrating new years’s eve on my flight from Washington, DC to London. I convinced myself that it would be worth it as I thought it would be an interesting new experience and a great way to welcome in 2012. In addition, I hate flying eastward over the Atlantic as I can’t sleep while sitting upright.

I am not a big fan of American owned airlines except for Virgin America and United. Some pEople gripe about United but I have not had a bad experience on UAL. While service is just fine in coach, it is quite nice in business class (as expected). From the moment I entered the plane until I disembarked, I was treated almost like royalty.

Video screen

I was welcomed and offered a class of champagne immediately upon entering the 777 series aircraft. I found my window seat, got accustomed to the video control panel and looked around the cabin. I specifically booked a ticket on United’s early flight from DC (there are two daily to London) after learning that the premium cabins were recently overhauled and modernized. I was impressed with the comfort of the seat and that it fully reclines into a small bed. The video screen was wide and it had an extensive list of movies and TV programs.

While not the best meal I’ve had on an airplane (Air France tops my list thus far), the three course meal was the best I’ve had on an American airline. Warm cashew nuts were served shortly after reaching cruising speed along with a glass of Chardonnay. The first course was smoked salmon with cucumbers and dill. The main course was chicken breast stuffed with Boursin cheese and served in a Madeira sauce. Both were very good. Using a trolley cart, a stewardess offered cheeses, red grapes and glasses of port (Sandeman’s) after the main was served. I thought that this was a nice touch.

The only gripe I had was the serving of a packaged shortbread cookie which contained numerous ingredients including high fructose corn syrup. If you are listening United, do away with this! You will save money and send the message u care about the quality of food being served.

I really enjoyed my experience in United’s business class and would not hesitate to make a another reservation (if only I had the miles!). Even in coach, United is pretty decent in my opinion.

click here here to learn more about United’s new business class cabins.

About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment