The Aventura Mexicana Hotel – Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Adults only pool, 2012

NOTE:  contact theTRAVELER if you are interested in staying at this hotel as I can get you 10% off the lowest internet rate.  This offer is good until 12/15/12.  

Looking for a great, reasonably priced hotel in Playa del Carmen?

When I am in the Riveria Maya, I stay at the Aventura Mexicana Hotel.  This highly rated boutique hotel has two pools and an excellent restaurant.  The staff are very friendly and service oriented and the rooms are reasonably priced.  The beach is just a few blocks away and 5th Avenue (where you will find many restaurants, bars and cafes) is just around the corner.  The hotel offers yoga classes almost daily.  Ask for Ann – she is one of the finest yoga instructors I have ever had!  The Aventura Mexicana is popular with Americans, Europeans and of course, Mexicans.

In March 2012, I stayed at this hotel on two occasions while visiting Playa del Carmen.  I also stayed here in 2009.  Here is a review of my two stays in 2012:

Towel Art, 2012

THE WELCOME

I was immediately welcomed by Antonio, the front desk attendant, even though he was busy registering another guest.  While waiting my turn, I checked out the Spanish colonial paintings on the wall and took a peek at the kids pool in the courtyard.  Antonio checked me in minutes later and after asking me if I had stayed at the hotel before, I recognized him as the same guy who checked me in when I last stayed at the hotel in 2009.  Antonio then showed me to my room.

THE ROOM

My traditional, Mexican themed room was rather large with a king size bed and a ceiling fan.  While it was facing the street, it was rather quiet.  On my second visit one week later, I was upgraded to a larger, more contemporary room on the third floor of the hotel.  I loved the view overlooking the courtyard and the adults only pool.  While the first room had a fully enclosed bathroom, the contemporary room had an open bathroom format (that is, no door).  While this was not a problem for me, some people have complained about this.

THE RESTAURANT

The Mayan Bistro is the hotels’ restaurant.  Since a continental breakfast is included in the price of the room, I enjoyed toast, coffee and Mexican pastries almost every morning.  One morning I ordered the excellent poached eggs.  Lunch and dinner is also served at the Mayan Bistro.

THE POOLS

As mentioned earlier, there are two pools at this hotel.  Once is mainly for children and the other is for adults only.  I enjoyed swimming in the adult pool and sunning on a lounge chair.  One afternoon, I met a woman from France.  Since she was interested in going to Chichen Itza, I invited her to join me on a private tour of the ruined city the following day.  Not only did I have a traveling companion but saved money as well!

SUMMARY

The Aventura Mexicana Hotel is a very comfy, medium sized hotel and offers reasonable rates.  The rooms are very comfortable, the grounds are gorgeous and the service is friendly.

Click here to visit the website.

About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Hotels and Lodging, Mexico and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

