Riding the Rails in Europe

St Pancras Train Station – London

I am a big fan of train travel – especially high speed adventures on sleek trains in Europe. Traveling by train is fast, fun and meditative.  I really enjoy looking out through the large windows of a train and talking to other passengers.  I find it therapeutic!

The following is a list of my top five train journeys of January 2012:

  • Taking the Eurostar from London to Paris – This was my second voyage on the Eurostar (my first was in 2002 shortly after the Chunnel was completed).  The trains haves aged a bit but are still pleasant to ride.  The fairly new St. Pancras train station in London is quite beautiful.
  • Riding the metro in London and Paris – These cities (and New York) have the most extensive networks in the world.  They are also fun to ride and entertaining.  Fairly cheap as well.
  • The TGV from Paris to Luxembourg – The French have the best trains in the world.  I enjoyed relaxing in my comfortable seat while zipping through the French countryside.  I also enjoyed my lentil salad in the cafe car.
  • Thalys train from Brussels to Amsterdam – I loved sitting in first class (I splurged!) and eating breakfast on this super fast train ride from Belgium to the Netherlands.  It seemed even faster than the french TGV.  This may have something to do with the fact that the countryside is completely flat in the low countries.
  • Riding the tram in Amsterdam – This city has updated its tram system since I last visited Amsterdam in 1997.  Very sleek, quiet but expensive compared to other cities (I paid over 4 euros per ride).  I love trams as you can see the city through your window.

Click here to see a list of train travel and other tips.

First Class – TGV from paris to Luxembourg


About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

