Luxembourg: Highlights of my Three Day Trip to the Grand Duchy

sunset

Looking for the real magic kingdom? Forget Disney World and visit Luxembourg City! Recently I spent three very enjoyable days in this small city located in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. For a tiny country, it has much to offer. The old town area of Luxembourg City is very picturesque and replete with beautifully restored medieval buildings. The city was established over a thousand years ago by Siegfroid and today it’s a bustling city full of people around the world (It’s a banking center if you haven’t heard). Three days were not enough to see the city but I did manage to get a decent glimpse.

Here are the highlights of my trip. They are not in any special order:

  • Seeing the old city for the first time from my hotel room. Wow!
  • Admiring the sunset over the city while thousands of birds took flight.
  • Walking the city – I especially enjoyed the very scenic walks from the “high” city to the “low city”.
  • Dining at Am Tiirmschen – I loved sampling Luxembourgish cuisine at this romantic restaurant located in a restored medieval house. (I’ll post an article about this soon.)
  • My stay at the Sofitel Le Grand Ducal Hotel – I loved my spacious room and the restaurant and bar on the top floor with superb views of the city.
  • Exploring the city history museum.
  • The excellent guided walking tour of the old city, and
  • Talking to the friendly people of the city.

Steeple

This was my first visit to Luxembourg and I am glad I chose to go slightly out of the way to visit this beautiful country. The country is overshadowed by France, Germany and the Netherlands for most travelers coming from North America. I believe it’s well worth the detour to see this city and it’s only two hours by the TGV train (high speed!) from Paris.

Click here to see more photos of Luxembourg. Contact me if you would like additional information or are planning a trip to Luxembourg.

About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

