Crispy Arctic Char, Apple & Barley Salad and Other Dishes at Ripple – Washington, DC

Like dining at restaurants where the chef (Logan Cox) sources sustainable or organic meats, fish and produce?  Then by all means, visit Ripple in Washington DC’s Cleveland Park neighborhood.

Last night I patronized this excellent restaurant with a Spanish friend.  Upon entering, I was seated by the friendly hostess and offered flat or sparkling water.  While waiting for my friend to arrive, I perused the room and admired the understated decor.  Moments later, the very friendly waitress welcomed me and dropped off menus and some delicious, freshly baked crackers.  My friend arrived and we ordered our meals and drinks.  While enjoying a full bodied, Italian white wine (Tennuta Reveligia), my first course arrived.  I had the Apple-Barley Salad with Fennel, Smoked Cobia and Idiazábal – a Spanish cheese.  It was light, delicious and a great start to my meal.  Later, our main course arrived.  Both my friend and I ordered the Crispy Arctic Char With Molasses, White Sweet Potatoes, Savoy Cabbage and Speck.  The Char, a light, salmon colored fish, was moist and delicious.  I really enjoyed the crispy speck (juniper flavored ham from Austria) that accompanied this dish.  We also ordered a side of the excellent Roasted Broccoli with Preserved Lemon, one of the best preparations I have seen with this vegetable.  We topped off the evening with a steaming cup of Mint Chamomile Tea.  I left feeling very satisfied…

The service at Ripple was friendly, efficient and definitely not harried.  Since I live in Cleveland Park, I will definitely pay another visit as I want to try their charcuterie plate as well as their excellent selection of cheeses.  Ripple is also known for it’s excellent desserts.

Click here for more information on Ripple.

About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

