A few Autumn Days in New York City

Earlier this month, I spent a few days “relaxing” in New York City.  I needed a break from DC as well as from studying (I am pursuing a Masters of Arts in Counseling Psychology).

I’ve been to New York City on countless occasions.  For those of you know me, I am a little obsessed with this city!  Here are the highlights of my most recent trip to New York:

Tuesday, 4 Oct 2011

  • Arrived in NYC via Amtrak.  Cool and rainy day…
  • Checked into the Jane Hotel -my favorite, economically priced hotel in NYC ($125/night!).  I highly recommend this nautical inspired hotel (it used to cater to sailors).
  • Checked out The Met – my favorite museum in NYC.    Strolled through the Egyptian, Greek and Roman galleries.  Admired the Anthony Caro sculptures on the roof and the view of midtown Manhattan while having a drink.
  • Had a very nice dinner with my friend Cathy at Buvette in the West Village. I enjoyed catching up with her while sipping a Rhone wine and eating grilled sardines, a lamb stew and other small plates at this very French “gastroteque”. The highlight, of course, was flirting with Cathy while eating a very delicious chocolate mousse!
  • After dinner, we walked back to my hotel in the West Village and had drinks in the very atmospheric hotel bar.

Wednesday, 5 Oct 2011:

  • Breakfast at Cafe Gitane – a French/Moroccan cafe in the lobby of the Jane Hotel.   Love the croissants, seven grain bread, La Colombe coffee and the house smoothie in this very charming cafe.
  • Yoga session at a studio in Midtown
  • Walk along the bike path from Midtown up to Upper West Side via Riverside Park.  Great walking and bike path!
  • Two hotdogs at Gray’s Papaya – the best hot dog joint in NYC (after Nathan’s).
  • Subway to Prospect Park in Brooklyn.  Strolled through this beautiful park on a perfect, sunny day.  Also strolled through Park Slope – a neighborhood now popular with the stroller crowd.
  • Walk through the Brooklyn Museum of Art.  My first visit to this extraordinary museum.  I especially enjoyed the Egyptian galleries.n
  • Porchetta (Italian style roast pork), Greens and Tuscan White Beans at Porchetta in the East Village.  I usually visit this small restaurant every time I go to NYC.  Delicious!
  • Strolled through NOLITA and SOHO to admire the architecture, etc.
  • Stracciatella Gelato at Grom.  Excellent Italian styled ice cream.
  • Walk along The High Line Park at night.  Ethereal as always.  Check out my post on this park.
Thursday, 6 Oct. 2011
  • Breakfast at Cafe Gitane
  • Bike ride to the Brooklyn Bridge via the Financial District.  Rented an old fashioned Schwinn bike from my hotel.
  • Spend some time with the Occupy Wall Street Protestors in Zucotti Park. Enjoyed reading the protest signs
  • Lunch at VanDaag – A minimalist, Dutch/Danish restaurant in the East Village. Loved the Cheese Toast and Kale Salad.
  • Dinner at Koliba – my favorite Czech restaurant in NYC.  Enjoyed  a glass of Staropramen beer and a plate of Svickova.  Reminds me of summer days at my grandmother’s house.

Friday, 7 Oct. 2011

  • Morning walk along the High Line Park
  • Stroll through Central Park
  • Lunch at Via Quadronna – a favorite Italian restaurant in NYC.  Had the “Non ti Scordar di me” sandwich.
  • Picked up a box of macaroons at Laduree on the East Side.  America finally has an outpost of this venerable French patisserie!  Cool website…
  • Shopping at Barney’s – where else?!
  • Enjoyed a Moroccan Mary at The Jane Hotel.  Delicious!
  • Savored a slice at Bleecker Street Pizza

Saturday, 8 Oct. 2011

  • Stroll through Madison Square Park
  • Lunch at Eataly – Cacio e Pepe Pasta, and a glass of Tuscan red wine.
  • Train back to DC
I have my own 3 page city guide to NYC.  Click here for more information.


About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in New York City and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A few Autumn Days in New York City

  1. Catherine Schetting Salfino says:

    Loved reading about your visit — and thanks for including your time with me! It was a great night — AND I got that free street parking across from your hotel. A minor miracle, that was! Until next time…. XOXO

Leave a Reply

