Ace Hotel, New York City

Ace Hotel Lobby and Bar

While I have always wanted to stay at the Ace Hotel, I didn’t plan on doing so this week while visiting friends in New York City.  My plan was to stay with a friend whom I met in NY last summer. Unfortunately something came up and he was not able to host me. Thus, while having a coffee at Beard Papa on the West Side, I thought about where should I stay for a couple of nights.  What immediately came to mind was the Ace Hotel.

The Ace Hotel bills itself as a low-key, contemporary hotel.  While this is the case during the day, it’s quite a different story at night.

Due to a computer glitch, the reception desk folks could not check me in at the stated check-in time of 3pm.  As a result, I asked the manager if she could give me a discount on the room.  Instead she apologized and offered me a drink in the lobby.

I took a seat at a long. communal table, pulled out my laptop, ordered a “Porkslap Pale Ale” beer and began writing a post while waiting for the keys to my room.  The lounge was occupied by 30 and 40 somethings working on their laptops or chatting with the friends over fairly loud, well mixed music.  It was quite a different scene from more traditional hotel lobbies but I welcomed it.  Even though the music was loud, I was actually able to write.  In fact I was energized.

My Room (with bunk beds!)

Minutes later, the hotel manager delivered me the keys and I left for my room on the 6th floor. Opening the door, I saw that I indeed was assigned a room with bunk beds!  This was the first time I had ever seen something like this in a hotel room.  The room was painted black, had low, ambient lighting and one wall was covered with front page clippings from the NY Times.  As for the bathroom, It was equipped with a rain shower fixture. The building dates back to 1904 and was renovated over the years.  The owners made an effort to keep as much of the original details as possible.

Later that evening after having dinner at The Breslin, I returned to the lobby at 1130pmish with my laptop, sat at the communal, laptop table and wrote while listening to music mixed by the DJ, Jason Strauss. My waitress told me that Bono was spotted in the restaurant (I didn’t see him).

Grapefruit with Gingered Sugar and Mint

Yesterday morning, I had breakfast featuring coffee from Stumptown Coffee Roasters. I also had a chocolate croissant and “Grapefruit with Gingered Sugar and Mint” (delicious!).

If you are looking for a cool hotel at decent prices for a NY hotel, consider staying here. You can also find Ace Hotels in Portland, Seattle and Palm Springs, California.  I would definitely return to this hotel – especially for its great location.

*************

Website:  Ace Hotel

Rooms:  $269 and up

Amenities:  lobby bar, restaurants (The Breslin, John Dory, #7 Sub), free wi-fi (lobby and in rooms), gymnasium

Misc:  dog friendly

Interested in staying at this hotel?  I have an extensive list of hotels in the low, mid and luxury ranges for New York City.  Contact me today!

About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in New York City and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ace Hotel, New York City

  1. Ing says:

    Hi

    I am interested in staying in the Ace and I was wondering if you had any problems with noise considering the lobby being such a ‘hip place’. I really want to stay there, but as I am making a booking for 2 weeks, I want to be sure I won’t have problems with not being able to sleep!

    Thanks in advance.

    • Hi, there. I was on the 4th floor and did not hear any noise from the lobby, HOWEVER, there was a special event in the lobby with very loud, live music. It ended at 11pm so it was not an issue for me.

      I would request a room on the 3rd floor or above

  2. Pingback: Cool Hotels In New York City | theTRAVELER

Leave a Reply

