Biltong, Braai & Cricket in Cape Town

Cricket Match

Never having seen a live Cricket match, I told myself I had to see such a game while traveling in South Africa in October 2006.  The Concierge at the Vineyard Hotel, my hotel in the suburbs of Cape Town, suggested I go to the stadium just up the street to see the Cape Cobras battle the Nashua Titans.  My Friend Nilo also thought it would be cool so we cabbed up the stadium.

Entering the stadium, the first thing I noticed was the lush, green mountains that served as a spectacular backdrop to the stadium.  (I have yet to see a more magnificent backdrop for a stadium.)  I thought to myself, I will not have any problem sticking around for a few hours even if the game is dreadfully boring!  We walked around for a bit, took our seats and watched the match.  As you have probably heard, Cricket is slooow moving but it is interesting and the fans are just as rowdy as baseball fans are in the States.  I enjoyed the match but loved the fan’s reactions to the game itself.  Many people were snacking on biltong or beef jerky while drinking beer and shouting at the players.  They unfortunately shattered my belief that Cricket was a gentleman’s game! We decided it was time to get lunch.

Walking around the stadium, we came upon a grassy embankment area where many people were having a braai, or barbecue, as they say in South Africa.  The air smelled of barbecued sausages, meats and vegetables.  As a foodie, I was in Heaven!  We immediately dashed over to a vendor selling grilled goodies and I felt satiated after having a grilled sausage in a hot dog bun with a South African beer.  We went back to our seats and watched a few more innings of the match.  I believe the Cape Cobras won the game later in the day.

For more photos of Cape Town, visit my Gallery.

About Robert Kavalek

Robert Kavalek is a travel consultant who shares his love for traveling the world on theTRAVELER (www.RobertKavalek.com). While his specialties are Paris, Mexico and "digital overload escapes", he can advise clients on any type of vacation. In addition, he writes about travel destinations and travel tips on his blog and Facebook page. Robert has visited 31 countries and territories and hopes to check out at least one new country every year. He currently lives in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in South Africa and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

